Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Giveaway: Sea Escape by Lynne Griffin

Sea Escapeis the second novel from nationally recognized family life speaker and author Lynne Griffin. With her particular insight into the dynamics of mothers and daughters, she brings readers into the lives of Laura and Helen, an adult daughter with a distant mother. A sudden stroke incapacitates Helen, bringing Laura to the realization that they may never have the chance to bring back the deep, warm relationship she remembers from her early childhood. Discovering a love letter written to Helen by her long-dead husband, Laura tries to connect with her mother by reading the letter aloud to the comatose woman. Hunting through her mother's ocean-front home Sea Escape, Laura finds more of the precious letters written during their courtship and early marriage, as well as others from the Vietnam War era, when Joseph was a war correspondent. Believing that her father's loving words have the power to heal, Laura reads the letters to Helen as she awakens but seems unable to speak. Through the letters Laura learns more about the father she lost when she was eleven and begins to understand some of the secrets of betrayal and sacrifice in her family.
Lynne has generously provided me with not only a copy of Sea Escapefor one lucky reader, but a copy of her first novel, Life Without Summer, for a second reader! Here's a summary from the publisher: Life Without Summer draws a haunting portrait of two women whose lives converge after a hit and run accident outside a school. Fans of Deep End of the Ocean and Good Grief will be transfixed by this novel about family, forgiveness and the struggle to find hope in healing.
Let's make winning super simple, OK?
  • Leave a comment telling me which of the two books you prefer. Be sure there is a way for me to contact you.
  • For extra entries become a Follower, Tweet, or blog about the giveaway.
  • Open to U.S. and Canadian residents only.
  • Giveaway will close on Friday, August 13 at 11:59 PM, Eastern Time and winners selected via random integer generator.
  • This review is one of many on the TLC Book Tour for Sea Escape. Definitely go check them out, because many are also having the same giveaway!
Don't the covers of these two novels call to you? I know I'd stop and check them out in a book store!

Photobucket

7 comments:

Novelista Barista said...

i think id go for the first book :)

gautami tripathy said...

Sounds good!

Here is my Wednesday Book Review post!

toothybooks said...

thanks for the review!

i've heard mixed thoughts on this book so i was a little apprehensive to start it, but i think i might give it a try now.

i would love to be entered to win the first book.

i'm a follower too.

Anonymous said...

Since so many want the first book, I think I will try for the second one!

I am a GFC Follower.

CarolNWong(at)aol(dot)com

Heather J. @ TLC Books said...

I love the concept of reviving someone's memories through reading letters - letters are such personal things and you can learn a great deal about a person through them.
Thanks for being a part of the tour.

Margie said...

I'd like to read Life Without Summer. Thanks for the giveway.
-new follower via GFC
mtakala1 AT yahoo DOT com

ewhatley said...

i'd be happy to have either one of these books however since i haven't read this author, i would prefer life without summer

ewhatley at embarqmail dot com